Skip navigation

New leadership named for UC Global Health Institute

As of July 1, 2016, Dr. Haile T. Debas, Dean and Chancellor Emeritus at UCSF, will become Director Emeritus of the University of California Global Health Institute (UCGHI). Dr. Debas is the founding director of UCGHI, providing the vision, leadership and long-lasting impact since UCGHI's founding in 2008.

Dr. Thomas J. Coates, Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Founding Director of UCLA's Center for World Health, will succeed Dr. Debas as Director of UCGHI. Dr. Coates will be transitioning from his role as the Co-Director. In his new role, Coates will be responsible for providing executive strategic, operational and resource management leadership for the Institute.

In addition, Craig R. Cohen, MD, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at UCSF, and Patricia A. Conrad, DVM, PhD, Distinguished Professor and Associate Dean for Global Programs at the School of Veterinary Medicine at UC Davis will serve as Co-Directors of UCGHI. Dr. Cohen previously served as Co-Director of UCGHI's Center of Expertise on Women's Health and Empowerment and Dr. Conrad served as the Co-Director of the Center of Expertise on One Health. In their new role, they will work closely with the Director to manage the operations of UCGHI.

Learn more about the UCGHI Leadership Team

UCGHI New Board of Directors

UCGHI would like to thank the outgoing Board of Directors for their leadership and service in helping UCGHI fulfill its mission and ongoing strides towards its vision. In addition, UCGHI welcomes the six new members of the Board. The Board of Directors is responsible for providing guidance to UCGHI in overall policy and direction in meeting organizational goals.

The UCGHI Board of Directors consists of the following individuals:

Executive Committee

  • Mary Croughan, PhD, UC Office of the President [Board Chair]
  • Thomas J. Coates, PhD, UCLA
  • Craig R. Cohen MD, UCSF
  • Patricia A. Conrad DVM, PhD, UC Davis
  • Kim A. Wilcox, PhD, UC Riverside

Board members

  • Timothy F. Brewer, MD, MPH, UCLA
    new board member
  • Cheryl J. Briggs, PhD, UC Santa Barbara
  • Nancy J. Burke, PhD, MA, UC Merced
    new board member
  • Matthew R. Guthaus, PhD, UC Santa Cruz
    new board member
  • Juliet M. McMullin, PhD, UC Riverside
    new board member
  • Oladele A. Ogunseitan, PhD, MPH, UC Irvine
  • Brad H. Pollock, PhD, MPH, UC Davis
    new board member
  • Arthur L. Reingold, MD, UC Berkeley
  • Jaime Sepulveda, MD, MPH, MSc, DrSc
  • Steffanie A. Strathdee, PhD, UC San Diego
    new board member

View a full listing of the UCGHI Board of Directors